Arctic Fox 5th Wheels

Video Gallery and Information Page for Arctic Fox 5th Wheels

This Arctic Fox 5th Wheel page will bring you a video gallery of AF 5th Wheels, eBay auctions of AF Fifth Wheels for sale, some useful links and the RSS feeds from the AF owners group. If you bookmark or link to this page, it can be a GREAT central hub for your AF fifth wheel information.

Arctic Fox Documentation and Owners Manuals:

Arctic Fox Owners Group Latest News :

  • First trip in new to us AF…with lots of questions.. June 29, 2015
    Boy, we felt like kings with the new to us AF over what we last owned (and rented)…and to be honest, the truck drew a bit of attention itself..

    We do like the slides even though they still make us nervous since we already had electronics issues with them..

    Everything seems to work (water heater on gas only) and we are hard pressed to say that the stove / over was actually ever used by the POs.. The oven vent light..even with a much brighter bulb and acrylic cover removed, is useless.

    We assume water pressure is park dependent ? I have a pressure valve and it was monitoring the park pressure at the very low section of the green…is the a way to up the pressure at the shower head with a restrictor or something ?

    We wonder about the pull out shower curtain..do folks replace it with a normal curtain ? Does the other one mold ?

    Need the fence post sewer pipe holder…but special order at $ 100 bucks makes me balk at the second….man, we need to get down to the states..

    Is there any way to get the outside steps to stop “squawking” when you step on them ? Will a particular type of oil penetrate the connections..

    Having second thoughts about hanging our barbie off the trailer..it is heavy and apparently, you need to bulk up the inside of the trailer..don’t think that is going to be easy.

    Even though there are really no miles on the tires..other than the initial pull across Canada, they are 5 year old and I will be switching them over to LTs before we head to Ontario.

    We have the 2 soft leather (?) tan “bucket seat” type chairs in the back..I haven’t looked but is there any way to make them less sensitive to motion ?

    The coach / bed is uncomfortable to sit on because the pillows are far to big for the unit…I think we will wait ’till be are stateside (and have less company) and swap it out..but in the meantime, has anyone swapped out the pillows with success ?

    ..same with the banquette..can someone sleep on that ?

    For those that have air ride hitches with air surge control…do you crank up the pressure in the anti surge bags to lessen the “pulling” of the 5th wheel ?

    Nothing from Northwood in the park..and we were asked a bunch of times what the arctic fox was…

    It is harder for our co pilots to get into the rig but our youngest (age 7) claimed the top of the coach so she could look out the window and protect us from cats like she does at home…lulu coach.jpg

    Ian :)
    Attached Images
  • Slide room locks – who uses them? June 28, 2015
    Saw this question in the Ford Trucks forum. Do YOU use then ones supplied with your RV? Whwn I bought my 29-5, I was told to forget ’em. Used them religiously in my previous 1992 5th wheel of another manufacturer. I don’t even know where they fit on this trailer.
  • 2008 Artic Fox 29 v, Silver Fox Edition June 26, 2015
    Offering our like new 29V for sale. Stored under cover since new. I bought from man who ordered it last year but our situation has changed so with much regret its for sale. Located in Hot Springs, Arkansas. I can send pics or answer any questions.
    This coach is absolutely like new and was ordered with larger axles and 16 in tires. Have all manuals and original build sheet. 21,000.00
    501 – 282 – 7093 call, text.
  • Front Window Removal On Recent Models ……….Why ? June 26, 2015
    Does anyone know why the newer travel trailer models do not have a front window? That seems like a step backward to me.
  • Considering a 1995 Nash 24A June 25, 2015
    Howdy, I am totally new here and an seeking some advice. I am looking at purchasing a 1995 Nash 24A. It looks to be in great shape, and has been stored in a barn. Other than checking for soft spots, mildew smells, etc., and making sure the systems work, is there anything I should look out for?

    The guy wants $6000

    Thanks in advance!
  • 2013 Nash 18L June 25, 2015
    I love my trailer but don’t have room to store it. Here is the Craigslist ad:

    https://eugene.craigslist.org/rvs/5090429076.html

    The tow vehicle is also for sale:

    https://eugene.craigslist.org/cto/5090460130.html

    Let’s make a deal!
  • Seeking Arctic Fox 25W & 25Y owner suggestions/opinions June 24, 2015
    I have narrowed my pre-purchase search to two Northwood travel trailers (25W and 25Y) and two other 30 foot La Grande manufactured non-Northwood travel trailers. I am headed to Boise ID and La Grande OR in August for some hands on research and factory tours of each manufacturer. I’d appreciate any AF 25W and AF 25Y information/opinions from owners regarding pros/cons, unique warranty, QC, maintenance issues and chosen options on these two Arctic Fox trailers. Also, I would appreciate your opinions on any specific weight distribution hitches you have used or might suggest. Thanks.
  • What's in a name? SnowRiver. Quite a bit actually June 24, 2015
    I was wondering if anyone here knows the history.

    Back in the late 80’s or early 90’s a guy named Bob Mehrer founded “Interior RV” in Penticton, BC. He began to build 5th wheels under the name “Snowbird” which he copyrighted with the owner of a local RV dealer who invested in the company. Unfortunately, this name was already in use in the United States, so when they started to sell there, they had to come up with a new name, “SnowRiver”. Bob soon dropped 5th wheels and started to produce Truck Campers. One day a customer came up and told him he would buy one if he could put a slide in it. Bob custom built one and also designed the mechanism from scratch. He tried a double slide in a couple of units, but figured it was too much of a structural integrity issue. Bob & Ron Nash were good friends, and AF was the second company to put a slide a truck camper. Ron always acknowledged that Bob built the best truck camper, but he also pointed out that 70 units a year were hardly a threat to Arctic Fox or Lance. Bob always had the lead in ingenuity, from putting loungers in Truck Campers and making it so the slide would come in by itself if you drove away with it out, and a lot of other small improvements.

    I first encountered this company in 2004 when I was on my way home with my Adventurer Truck Camper on my 98 Ford 460. I stopped at a forestry site in Idaho and the camp host had one of these Snow River Campers. Hhe told me how he had a solar panel issue and the owner of the company had driven 700 miles to fix it in person. I decided to detour to Penticton to meet this guy. I checked into a Provincial Park and phoned him and he invited me to come & camp in his back yard, which I did. I had just adopted a Mexican dog who had never been in a house before, and to my horror he lifted his leg against the kitchen cabinets. Bob was unfazed.

    Over dinner he asked me about my trip down Baja. OK, I said except for having to take the camper on & off for repairs to my old truck. It had manual jacks. He asked me why I did not put electric ones on, and I told him the estimate was $1700. Let’s take it into the shop on monday and I will see what I can do, he told me. Monday morning we arrived at the factory and there were a couple from Seattle with a 10 year old used camper that had issues with its slide. He took both rigs in then took the 4 of us to breakfast which he paid for. We got back to the fcatory after and the slide was fixed. When the couple asked how much, Bob just said “Happy Birthday”. This was a second hand unit, remember. It was then I suspected there was no such thing as a warrantee expiration.

    They were still working on mine, so Bob took me on a pub crawl for the next 4 hours. When we got back, they had just finished up and Bob called me into my office. My cost on these is $600 he said, but I am a businessman so I’m charging you $610 (I later found out his cost was a lot higher than that). Next time I observed this sort of thing was at the national Truck Camper rally in Ogallala Nebraska in 2006. A couple were there with an old SnowRiver with no A/C. They were sweltering in he heat. Bob went up to the Dometic rep and said, go install an A/C on their unit and send me the bill. At this point I decided to trade in my Adventurer and get one of his campers which is pictured below. Over the years I became good friends with Bob & his wife Heather.

    In late 2008 the recession hit and the RV market started to crash. Bob was leasing factory space and had the choice of bleeding to death or closing down. He chose the latter. He sold the SnowRiver name to his friend Ron Nash. He told me that he did not want the name to go to a product that was not quality. Northwood used it for their new trailer line. When I switched to a TT last year, it seemed like the logical choice. I hope Bob, wherever he is, is smiling.

    Bob died of a heart attack a year a go last summer, he had had 6 previously. I travelled up for his funeral as did a lot of his former customers. He lived in a small town called Naramata, just up the lake from Penticton. They closed the whole town down, and it was one of the largest memorials I have ever been to. The man had made a lot of friends. I visited Heather last weekend, she is doing OK. RIP Bob, you were one of a kind.

    Bob Mehrer



    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bL-fD8Zj5Js







    So that is the history of the SnowRiver name.
  • How tall is your rig.. June 24, 2015
    I think I have watched too many 5th wheels going under bridges and having the top peeled off..

    Anybody know the minimum height of a bridge that is safe for us ?

    Thanks
    ian
  • Yamaha EF2400iS 2,400 Watt for sale June 24, 2015
    I have a very low hour Yamaha EF2400iS for sale. I used a few times to to run the AC while dry camping to cool down my Outback 23RS. It will run a 13.5 K AC but NOT a 15K unit. It is 6 years old but if I were to guess it has less than 40 hours of run time and that is stretching it. I have upgraded to a Arctic Fox 27-5L and this generator is not packing enough power. I figured I would offer it on this site prior to posting it on Craig’s List. There are a couple scuffs on the plastic from moving it around. Started it this past weekend and it started on the first pull (like always). $800.

    http://www.amazon.com/Yamaha-EF2400i…amaha+EF2400iS

Latest Arctic Fox Videos :

Latest Arctic Fox 5th Wheels for sale on eBay.com :

Note from Marlan at RV52 – there isn’t a lot of these on eBay. So this link may be a bit empty.


 

Get Great Content and Info

RV52 will send articles straight to your email. Get about 1 email per week plus/minus. 

privacy We value your privacy and would never spam you

Comments

  1. Gary says

    I just bought a 2003 Arctic Fox, 33.5′ 5th wheel. Few Questions:
    1) Are the slide out awnings necessary? Any idea where I can get those, or is any RV sales company okay?
    2) Is it necessary to have a working battery when using 120v power? I was told if the battery is bad the converter would be ruined. I plan on living it it in one place for next 4 years while in school.
    3) Any idea where the VIN number is located?
    4) Is it necessary to have it 100 percent level?
    5) The entrance door lock is broken and I can’t get in. Can any RV service company fix this?
    Thank you
    Gary

  2. says

    Gary,

    Good questions.
    1) I’m not sure on the AF. I do NOT have them on my fifth wheel and it is designed so that water does not drain into the RV. You can find the slide awnings on Amazon. Start you search on Amazon here -> http://rv52.com/amazon

    2) I DO think that not having a battery would be hard on the converter. The converter is designed to charge the batteries and power is taken off of the batteries. The batteries are like a “smoother” for the power demands. You should be able to find a deep cycle marine/RV battery for around $100 just about anywhere.

    3) No. Check the inside of the doors in the basement. Also check around the fifth wheel hitch where it is likely to be stamped into the metal.

    4) It doesn’t have to be perfect, but your refrigerator will burn up without being level. Also, you do not want to create a situation where the 5th wheel could move dangerously down a hill.

    5) Yes. You might be able to as well. You can find replacements at an RV dealer OR on Amazon.

    Good luck.

  3. Gary Smith says

    Hello Mystery Person:

    Those sure were great tips! Thank you. I have decided to get a service company to come out (if they will) and check all the wiring before I start living in my AF. It only had one battery; although there is a place for two. I took that one dead battery to an auto repair store, and he’s charging it; he told me it looks like it’s going to hold its charge. I’m worried, though, that if whoever I bought it from actually bought it at an auction, they may not really don’t anything about the wiring. Even though when I went to pick it up, they had the 120v plugged in and the lights were working inside and out and the front jack switch was working too. But when we brought it home, the truck that was pulling it didn’t supply enough power to get that front jack switch working like it did when it was plugged into the 120v. And, if it was just sitting around for a long period of time without 120v going to it, then the battery would have normally and naturally discharged. I guess without 120v, it couldn’t have recharged itself – which means (and by the way, I’m only guessing on all of this), that the converter may be good. So, if the battery is charged by tomorrow morning “holding its charge,” then how can I know if the converter is good? When I plug my AF in to the 120v, is the converter designed to keep the battery charged? If the converter is bad, even when the 120v is plugged in, will the power drain the battery too? Should I have two batteries, to purchase another one because there is a slot for a second battery? And just so you can get the full picture, my RV is in our driveway, setup, where I plan on living in it for the next four years, no camping, always plugged into 120v. I hope you don’t mind answering my questions and helping me get used to this type of living. That was smart about the refrigerator needing to be level. That’s like why people say not to lay them on their side, something to do with oil, which is probably the reasoning behind needing the rv level or the refer will go bad. That was another great tip on where to start looking for awnings. Thanks very much!
    Gary

  4. says

    I’m no mystery person – I’m Marlan Winter and run all of rv52.com! (check out http://rv52.com/about )

    From your description above, your converter sounds fine. I don’t think I would bother with a 2nd battery. If this one goes out, just go pick up another one. Temperature, usage, heat, and running out of water are what wear the batteries out.

    Here is one article I wrote about battery care: http://rv52.com/better-check-your-rv-battery-it-needs-it-and-it-isnt-hard/
    Here is a video collection on batteries: http://rv52.com/how-to-video/how-to-all-about-batteries/
    Here is a video collection on converters: http://rv52.com/how-to-video/how-to-all-about-converters/
    Here is a fun article about using your battery: http://rv52.com/rv-basics-what-can-you-do-on-a-single-12-volt-battery/

    With a fully operational converter you’ll usually have one of the following voltage levels – Equalizing (15 vdc), Bulk (14.2 vdc), and Float (13.2 vdc). Most of the time your inverter will be 13.2Volts. You can get a voltmeter at Radio Shack. If your voltages get to be 12 or 11, then definitely your inverter is not working.

    I have no idea on how to know if your wiring is good. I guess check every single thing in the RV. But it is really the UNSEEN wiring issues that will get you. For those, I don’t have any idea how to check. Generally they will show up quick I would think – like right after the RV has been moved. That will be a short or something similar. Or a birds nest where it shouldn’t be.

    Good luck Gary!

    Cheers, Marlan

  5. Gary Smith says

    Thank you, Marlin.

    I will be sure to watch those videos.

    I like your website.

    Gary

  6. says

    Thanks Gary. Those kind words go a long way.

    If you want to help me out a little – doing any sharing or liking or linking to my pages would be super great!

    If I don’t hear from you again soon, have a GREAT weekend.

    Marlan

  7. Gary Smith says

    Hi Marlan

    I have only just begun the awesome adventure of RV living. I am a little intimidated by all the new gadgets of newer RVs compared to the 70s model we had when I was a youngster. However, my wife, 2-year old daughter and I lived in another old tt in 97; I bought it for 1600; it had no air, no heat and mice. She was pregnant at the time too. That 2-year old is now graduating high school this year. Anyway, I am writing you again to tell you that my apprehension to beginning living in an RV while going to law school (need total quitness studying) is real owing to all the buttons, switches, alarms, signals, gauges, along with auto this and auto that found inside my 2003 AF – yes, quite intimidating. However, your website is unbelievably filled with every single unanswered question I have been asking myself (and RV stores) since I started looking a month ago for my new “home.”

    Your website is filled with absolutely awesome articles: more informative and knowledge-based articles than any RV store or RV technician could ever know! WOW! I don’t feel as “all-alone” as I once did knowing “if I have ever thought of an issue, the solution to that is in rv52 somewhere!” All I have to do is type in my search question.

    To be totally safe, though, I’m going to hire an RV tech to come out and give me a demo of all the fancy junk that’s inside my new home just so I’ll have a fresh, safe, and great start. Then, I plan on reading all of your articles pertinent to my AF. Thank you so much, Marlan, for taking the time to develop such an awesome and “FREE” website!

    Your new “hooked” customer;

    Gary Smith

  8. Gary Smith says

    I have a 2003 Arctic Fox 33.5′ fifth wheel. I live in it full time.

    Early this morning, I smelled what normally smells like hot or burning wires. I checked and felt the fusses for heat: nothing there. I traced it down to the water heater that is stored underneath where the television goes. I had just used the hot water, maybe a few gallons; so, it was heating up when I began to smell that burning wire smell. The two 110v wires coming out of the receptacle box that go into the water heater were warm, but not hot. Nevertheless, when I opened the door below the television to access the water heater, the smell of burning wires was overwhelming. Eventually, the smell lessened, but it nonetheless, smells the same, just not as intense because the hot water is not being used at the moment to keep the water heater from going full blast.

    Is this a normal smell for my RV water heater?

    I do not know what to think about this.

    Thank you for any advise you have about this strange wire-burning smell coming from the water heater area.

    Gary Smith

  9. says

    Gary,

    That does not sound normal or safe. Call someone right away. Turn your hot water heater off. Is the hot water heater both ac powered and/or gas powered? If so, you might consider switching to lp gas mode. By the way, lp gas is very economical to heat water.

    I will pass this along to my favorite RV repair experts.

    Marlan

  10. Gary Smith says

    Well, as weird as it this may be, it only did it that one day. I spent today cleaning my RV, and in the process, I stuck my face down inside that lower cabinet; the smell was not there.

    The water heater does operate with either gas or electric. Because I’m a new rv’er, I am not going to teach myself how to ignite the gas at this time. However, speaking of LP, my stovetop works; but for some reason, the gas heater’s flame doesn’t ignite. I can hear it click ever 15 seconds or so, but it never fires.

    I was wondering when the tanks are low if that might cause the furnace not to spark a flame. It must be that because I took the furnace out back in March when I bought this home and took it to an LP supplier to make sure there were no leaks. When it stopped working in late spring, I began to smell rotten eggs making me think the tanks were low. Because it was nearing summer when I noticed it wouldn’t fire, I didn’t worry about it. Now that it’s winter, I am going to look closer into why it’s not firing – but I believe it’s because the tanks are low, but not too low for the stove top to work.

    Thanks for your answers all the time.

    If you have any thoughts about the furnace not firing, please let me know. :-)

    Gary

  11. says

    It is not weird at all.

    The RV hot waters I am familiar with are electrically ignited, just like your gas heater. So it should not be much more than flicking on a switch. Then you will hear the roar of the heater.

    Please do me a favor and make sure your carbon monoxide detector is working. The stats on CO poisoning are surprising.

    Yes, all sorts of odd things happen on low gas. We always keep one tank valve on and one off. That way we never are stranded without gas. When one gets empty, we switch the valves over to the full one.

    Let me know when you are ready to write a story about your full timing adventure and I will publish it on RV52.

    Cheers.

  12. Gary Smith says

    Hey, that’s great advice, one on and one off. lol, I should have thought of that, but I didn’t because of the dual tank regulator – it may not be working correctly, and that may be why I was smelling low gas. I did change the two hoses earlier in the year. I’m going to check that as soon as I get caught back up on my class work.

    A few months ago I had sprayed Lysol on the floor near the front door. All of a sudden, a shriek blasted in my ear, and I eventually realized it was the CO gas sensor. I know that works!

    As far as writing my full-time experiences rv’ing, you just happen to be talking my language. Other than that extra “it” in the first paragraph of my previous message, I do write well. That’s not supposed to be boastful; I’m a full-time legal studies college student online at Kaplan University, and writing legal essays is all I seem to do! Thankfully, I will graduate in March; but the writing won’t be over, because in the fall of 2015, I’ll be taking my home to south Florida to live there while in law school. Therefore, I will take you up on writing the commentary as soon as I get caught up in my class work. That will be one day next week. Thanks for asking me to do that.

    Gary

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *